set lists, sloppy wet kisses and John 15

June 9, 2008

well…we’re still here in panama city.  camp two of the summer begins tomorrow night.  we’ve wrapped up an AMAZING week at bigstuf and moved down the road for a private camp for a church from texas called Lake Pointe Church.  Lake Pointe is a long time friend of the kristian stanfill experience and we’re pretty physced to be with them again.  for now though, kerri, isaac and i are enjoying a few days off between camps.

you guys have been asking some pretty sweet questions in the fellowship hall and i think i’ve got some really deep brilliant answers for you so…

from kory…
hey kristian,
for those of us out there still working on set-lists,
it would be cool if you could post some from this summer with some why’s.
god bless.

kory…below is a list of songs that i’ll be picking from this summer.  when we play them and why really varies from camp to camp.  i hope this helps.

he loves us
lead me to the cross
beautiful jesus
lord of all
faithful
highest and greatest
happy day
we shine
all because of jesus
spring of life
return
i need you

from josh…
i really like that ‘how he loves’ song that eddie has on his album and you have been doing at different events, but does that ‘heaven meets earth like a sloppy wet kiss’ make you feel a little awkward.  i don’t know i kind of does to me.  
thanks.

josh…i feel you dawg.  the first time i heard this song it was kind of weird to me too.  as a matter of fact, i’ve been asked this question at a few different events we’ve played the song at.  i always explain it like this.  a sloppy wet kiss is not a peck on the cheek.  it’s not even a peck on the lips.  a sloppy wet kiss is what it sounds like.  it’s the kind of kiss that says, “i’m so crazy about you and who you are that i’m gonna get a little undignified with this kiss.”  it’s not perfect but it’s deep, true, real affection toward someone you love unconditionally.  a friend of mine explains it by using his daughters as an example.  sometimes he gets so caught up in his love for his two daughters that he goes in for a kiss and comes away with a face full of snot and drool, but he says those are his favorites.  he says it doesn’t matter how disgusting his face gets…he loves his daughters and he’s got to show it.  God loves you and God loves me in that kind of way.  unconditional, unbiased and forever.  i think that’s what that line is trying to convey.  at the end of the day…i didn’t write the song.  you could try to contact john mark mcmillan for the truest explanation.

from chris…
how did your ministry branch out all over the country? how did you get the opportunity to lead at camps and other churches?
chris 

chris…that’s a great question.  i have no idea.  i started playing guitar when i was 13 because i liked music, not because i wanted to lead worship all over the country or sing at North Point Community Church.  i started leading worship in my eighth grade sunday school class because nobody else wanted to and i was the only one who owned a guitar.  i didn’t ever sit down and write out my 17 step plan for becoming a traveling worship leader.  to be honest i didn’t really know everything that was happening while it was happening.  it’s only now that i look back on the past 7 to 8 years of my life and see that it was God and only God that was leading my feet through the doors that He would open.  i would really encourage you and all the other worship leaders out there to dive into John 15:1-8.  

1“I am the true vine, and my Father is the gardener. 2He cuts off every branch in me that bears no fruit, while every branch that does bear fruit he prunes[a] so that it will be even more fruitful. 3You are already clean because of the word I have spoken to you. 4Remain in me, and I will remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me. 5“I am the vine; you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing. 6If anyone does not remain in me, he is like a branch that is thrown away and withers; such branches are picked up, thrown into the fire and burned.7If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be given you. 8This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples.

this has been a place in scripture that i always return to and is always fresh to me.  in order to bear fruit we must remain in Christ…nothing else.  it reminds me that EVERYTHING comes from the vine that i remain plugged into.  there is so much amazing truth in these few verses.  i hope that answers your question.

thanks for your questions guys!  i hope everyone is doing well.  btw…levi’s 511 skinny jeans are on sale at jc penny for $20!  dig in.

4 Responses to “set lists, sloppy wet kisses and John 15”

  1. thanks for the heads up on the 511 skinny’s…need to head there today for one of my boys…good word on the sloppy wet kiss!…blessings at camp(s)…looking forward to worship at Catalyst…

  2. I linked to you… :-)

  3. Christian said

    Hey Kristian! First off, I just wanted to say how much I enjoyed BigStuf this year. It was my first year, and it was the best thing I have ever experienced. Hey, we met at the cash register one day when I was buying stuff… anyways, back to my question. I really want the lyrics to “Lift High”, “Jesus Paid It All”, and many many of the other songs you performed this year. Can you send me a link, ect.? It would mean a lot. Thanks!

  4. Thanks for the reminder on John 15. A much needed reminder….it is sad how we can spend so much time doing things “for God”, that we forget to take time to “get to know God”, i am guilty….so we end up doing our own thing, and then calling it “ministry”….if I remember right…doing my own thing never lead me anywhere good.

    Thanks for the word.

    Nate

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

